What Is The Punishment For Drinking And Driving?

The punishment for DUI can range from a fine of as little as $200 up to $2,500 and imprisonment up to 10 years in the penitentiary, depending on the person's prior record. The punishment varies according to the court in which the defendant is charged and the offense. In a municipal court, for all municipalities except Oklahoma City, Tulsa and Lawton, the maximum fine is $500 and a maximum of 30 days in jail as punishment. In a court of record, which includes Oklahoma City, Tulsa, and Lawton, the maximum fine is currently $1,200 and up to six months in jail as punishment. In all district courts in Oklahoma, the maximum punishment is a $1,000 fine and 10 days to one year in jail for a misdemeanor DUI, to as much as 10 years in the penitentiary and a $2,500 fine for a felony. There are also other crimes, such as aggravated DUI that can carry an additional punishment of up to 480 hours of community service and a 30-day inpatient treatment. Aggravated DUI occur when a person has an alcohol level in their body of .15 or above. There is also a charge of DUI with great bodily injury, which arises when a person under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants causes an accident resulting in life-threatening or disfiguring injury to someone.