DUI in Oklahoma
Anyone who has been arrested for driving under the influence and convicted knows that the penalties are harsh.
As a refresher, someone could be arrested for driving, operating, or otherwise being in physical control of a motor vehicle:
- With a blood alcohol content of 0.08%
- While clearly under the influence of alcohol
- With any quantity of a Schedule I substance in their system
- While clearly under the influence of a substance other than alcohol that would render someone unable to operate a vehicle safely
- While under the influence of a combination of alcohol and another intoxicating substance
DUI penalties in Oklahoma
In this state, the penalties for driving under the influence are one or a combination of the following:
- Court-mandated community service
- Being required an ignition interlocking device, which requires a passing blood alcohol content to start the transmission
- Jail time anywhere from 10 days to 20 years, depending on the severity of the individual’s infraction
- Up to a $5,000 fine
Repeat DUI offenses
Once someone is convicted of driving under the influence, each offense beyond that will likely bring increasingly severe penalties.
The above penalties are all possible with a first-time offender. However, if someone gets stopped again, the court can see that it is not their first time and will probably order more serious consequences as an attempt to deter them from repeating their behavior.
Responding to a DUI arrest
Many people learn their lesson after getting caught drunk driving once. They take their punishment in stride and try to do better going forward.
If you were once convicted of DUI, you probably did exactly that. However, it could be that you were wrongfully arrested and are now facing hard consequences for something you did not do.
There are options for you. Consult with an experienced DUI attorney, as they can advocate for you in court so that you don’t have to be saddled with unfair repercussions.