What Is The Maximum Punishment For A First-Time Offender?
The punishment for DUI for the first-time offender varies according to the court in which the defendant is charged. In a municipal court, for all municipalities except for Oklahoma City, Tulsa and Lawton, the punishment is a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum of 30 days in jail. In a court of record, which includes Oklahoma City, Tulsa, and Lawton, the punishment is currently a maximum fine of $1,200 and up to six months in jail.
In all District Courts in Oklahoma, the maximum punishment is a $1,000 fine and one year in jail. In most cases, the first-time offender will not be assessed the maximum fine, and in most jurisdictions, no jail time will be given. One can reasonably expect to be offered a plea bargain. Most often, a person can get a deferred judgment and sentence, which means the defendant pleads guilty, or no contest, to the charge, and the sentencing is put off for a period of time. During this time, the defendant is required to complete certain tasks, such as attending AA meetings or counseling, performing community service, and completing alcohol abuse training. If the defendant successfully completes the requirements, the charge is either dismissed or reduced to a traffic offense that is not related to alcohol. This acts to keep the DUI charge from appearing on a person’s traffic record.