Previously, Oklahoma drivers arrested for DUI charges had to request an administrative hearing with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety to challenge license suspension rulings. However, recent changes in DUI laws will modify where you can appeal your case and what options are available for you after a DUI arrest.

Changing the appeals process

You can face license suspension anywhere from 30 days to three years after a DUI charge. If you wish to appeal your suspended driver’s license, you will have to do so through the district court. This change is effective starting November 1st of this year. However, challenging a license suspension this way still doesn’t guarantee that the court will accept your appeal.

Driving programs as an alternative

If you don’t win your appeal, a new Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP) is now available for some drivers, thanks to modifications in Oklahoma DUI laws. These programs offer treatment for drivers charged with a DUI. While this program keeps you from serving jail time, you will have to pay a $200 fee to enter. You will also pay an additional $50 fee to apply for a hardship license while you are in IDAP.

Additional monitoring under IDAP

Once admitted into the program, you will be required to install an interlock device in your car within 45 days of admittance. An interlock device is a tool that measures the amount of alcohol on your breath. If the device registers alcohol on your breath, you will be unable to start your car.

While this device can help control the tendency to drive under the influence of alcohol, it comes at a cost. Not only will you need to pay for installation, but the device usually charges a monthly fee to keep it installed and calibrated in your car. The number of DUI offenses you have on your record will determine how long you must keep an interlock device in your vehicle:

  • First-time offense — six months
  • Second-time offense — 12 months
  • Third-time offense — 36 months

What happens after IDAP?

Successful completion of IDAP means you will not face total loss of your driver’s license. Also, you will not have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back.

If you are unsure about your options, consulting with a lawyer can help you figure out how these new changes in Oklahoma DUI laws will affect you after a DUI arrest.