Oklahoma residents might be familiar with the laws in their state regarding Driving Under the Influence (DUI). However, many states have different laws for this offense and different punishments.
Over the decades, many states have reformatted laws related specifically to drunk driving. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says that fatalities related to DUI incidents have dropped by 57% from 1982.
Why is drunk driving such a serious issue?
Drunk driving accidents are to blame for 29 percent of car accident deaths as of 2015, which equates to around 10,000 lives per year. It’s also one of the leading causes of accidents as a whole.
Driving under the influence or while drunk can impair your driving ability significantly, making it hard to stay awake behind the wheel and control your vehicle. As states continue to become more strict on drunk driving, fatalities related to drunk driving will continue to drop.
Which state is the most strict?
Arizona is the strictest state when it comes to DUI laws. The first time you’re convicted of a DUI, you must serve 10 days in jail and a DUI is an automatic felony after the third offense.
South Dakota doesn’t have a minimum sentence when it comes to DUI convictions, which makes it one of the most lenient states. However, a DUI is still considered a felony in South Dakota after the third offense.
Oklahoma ties with Kansas as the fourth strictest state when it comes to DUIs. A DUI is a felony charge after the second offense, and the first offense gets you 10 days in jail.
What other punishments exist?
Several states have incorporated rehabilitation programs into their punishments for DUI charges. This is meant to help alcoholics recover and prevent future drunk driving incidences. It’s important to drink responsibly and get help if you believe you have an alcohol problem.