Just like other states, Oklahoma has laws relating to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It’s important to understand the classifications and the penalties.
What is the difference between DUI and DWI?
DUI and DWI are two different charges in Oklahoma. DUI relates to driving while your blood alcohol concentration or BAC is .08 or greater. A DWI can be charged when your BAC is .06 or .07 when you’re driving.
A person is deemed to be under the influence of alcohol if their BAC is .08 or higher.
On the other hand, if a person is tested and their BAC is shown to be .06 or .07, they can face DWI charges. In that scenario, they are deemed to be unsafe to operate a vehicle due to impairment.
However, if the person is younger than 21, they can be arrested on DUI or DWI charges with an even lower BAC. The state has a zero-tolerance policy for drinking and driving among younger drivers. This means that if someone under 21 is caught to be driving under the influence, they will immediately have their license suspended. A first offense results in a six-month revocation. It’s also common for younger offenders to face fines of $100 to $500 and mandatory community service. Treatment programs may be ordered as well.
What are the penalties for DUI and DWI?
A DWI is considered a lesser offense than DUI. However, if you’re convicted, you can face up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $500. It’s also common to have your driver’s license suspended for 30 days for a first offense.
A DUI arrest includes an automatic license suspension for six months. If convicted, you can face anywhere from 10 days to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Drunk driving is serious. The best way to avoid charges is to avoid getting behind the wheel if you know you’ll be drinking.