Receiving a citation for DUI in Oklahoma is a serious legal matter. Not only can drivers be charged when drinking alcohol, but they can also be ticketed for being under the influence of other substances. Even those who drive while using legal medical marijuana can still be cited, and the chemical can actually stay dormant in the system up to 30 days. This can create a potential problem for those prescribed for regular use because it can effectively stay in the system continually, which can assuredly complicate a DUI prosecution.
Penalties in Oklahoma for a DUI can differ based on the location of the arrest. Those charged in municipal court when there are no extenuating results such as an accident injury or having a minor in a vehicle can be less severe than in a state court, which is where most charges are adjudicated. A first offense can result in at least 10 days in jail and a substantial fine in either jurisdiction. Additionally, some cases can also carry the installation of an IID in the defendant’s personal vehicle.
Details matter when an individual is cited for driving under the influence more than once. Based on material case evidence, defendants could be facing felony charges when they have an elevated BAC test, have a minor in the vehicle at the time, or are involved in an accident producing injuries. Aggravated charges can be filed under any of these circumstances, and penalties can be significantly enhanced by the court.
It is important to remember that those under age 21 will also possibly face even more penalties with respect to possession of alcohol. Those who are cited for DUI of non-alcoholic substances have a better potential for a defense in some instances when they have a legal prescription to possess the designated chemical found in any subsequent blood test.