Oklahoma's Oldest DUI Defense Firm

Attorneys Stephen G. Fabian Jr. and Brian P. Young

What to expect at an ADSAC (DUI) assessment

On Behalf of | May 5, 2022 | DUI - Drunk Driving |

Being charged with DUI in the state of Oklahoma is a serious matter. If this is your first offense, there are ways to mitigate the penalties. One of the best things you can do is receive an ADSAC(DUI) assessment. The steps you need to take in order to do so, as well as what you can expect, can be listed below.

Getting started on your ADSAC(DUI) assessment

If you are charged with a DUI, you have a chance to avoid some of the harsher penalties. Your best bet will be to pay the $160 fee to receive an ADSAC(DUI) assessment. The fee will be $160 if your offense was committed after November 1, 2008. If it was committed before then, the fee will be set at $175.

Your assessment will take place in a professional setting. You will need to answer all of the questions in an honest and open manner. The credentials of your ADSAC assessor will be made available to you. Once you have received a set of recommendations, these will be communicated to you in writing.

What will take place during your assessment?

You will have the best chance of getting an ADSAC (DUI) assessment if this is your first offense. If this is the case, you can expect to have a clinical interview in person with your ADSAC assessor. You will also be given at least three outside referral options. The number of options will depend on how many are available in a radius of 70 miles.

After you have completed your initial ADSAC assessment, you will receive official recommendations for services. You will also receive a list of the local agencies where you can go to receive them. Once you do, you will receive a red-stamped completion certificate.