What are the consequences of an underage DUI?

On Behalf of | Jun 6, 2022 | Dui |

If a person under 21 is arrested for drunk driving in Oklahoma, it could be terrifying for them and their parents. It’s important to understand the consequences of underage DUI.

What are the underage DUI laws?

Although the blood alcohol concentration or BAC limit for adults 21 and over is 0.08%, the laws are stricter for those younger than 21 due to Oklahoma’s zero tolerance laws. If anyone under 21 is found to have any alcohol in their system, they can be arrested for underage DUI.

What are the consequences of underage DUI?

There are many consequences of underage DUI. Legally, a person who has committed their first offense and is convicted could face a fine of up to $500 and a six-month driver’s license suspension. The court often orders at least 20 years of community service as well. These penalties are harsher with any prior underage DUI convictions.

If a driver younger than 21 is stopped by a police officer on suspicion of drunk driving and refuses to submit to a breath test, they can be charged with a misdemeanor. This can result in up to 10 days in jail or a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Individuals convicted of underage DUI are also required to have an ignition interlock device placed on their vehicle.

There are also other consequences that could affect a person who faces these charges. There might be a stigma tied to them. For certain types of jobs, a background check is necessary. If the prospective employer discovers that the applicant has an underage DUI conviction on their record, it might impact their chances of being hired.

People who have DUI convictions might also face problems when looking for an apartment. It may also affect their ability to get into certain schools or qualify for a student loan.

Underage DUI is an offense that’s often life-changing. If you face charges, you should take them seriously.